Amy Plum, international bestselling author of the Die for Me series, delivers a heart-pounding adventure perfect for fans of Michael Grant, Veronica Rossi, and Alexandra Bracken. Until the Beginning brings this duology to a stunning and captivating conclusion.

Juneau has been searching for her people and for answers . . . and she is about to find both in the exhilarating sequel to After the End, which Marie Lu, New York Times bestselling author of the Legend series and The Young Elites, called “Wonderfully riveting.”

When Juneau’s clan disappeared, she lost so much more than her friends and family. She soon discovered everything she thought she knew about her life was a lie. Her people’s gifts were actually secret abilities that others wanted, desperately enough to kidnap an entire village.

Juneau and her new companion Miles’s cross-country journey to find her clan has led them to a game preserve in New Mexico. Now Juneau’s people are finally within reach, and she will stop at nothing to save them. But she has a target on her back too, because unbeknownst to her she is the key to unlocking everything. To rescue her people—and herself—Juneau must discover what she, and her abilities, are truly capable of.


From RT Book Reviews, 4 1/2 stars
With the thrilling cliffhanger ending to the prequel, After the End, this book is sure to have readers screaming for joy as it starts off where they last left the characters, then expands into an even more magical journey. There is not a dull page to be found, as action, adventure and romance abound. You’ll feel as if you are right with the characters. This heart-pounding book will take you on a journey that you will never want to end.

From Kirkus Reviews, February 16
“Picking up right where it left off, the story that started with After the End (2014) continues.

In trying to find her vanished clan, Juneau has met and fallen for Miles, the son of a wealthy pharmaceutical company owner. At the book’s opening, a gunshot Miles has died, but Juneau performs her clan’s Rite to bring him back to life and possibly extend his life for hundreds of years, disease-free. As she mentally Reads the emotions and surroundings of her distant father and others, Juneau begins to detect where her kidnapped clan is being held. She travels the Southwest, finding a hidden reserve where billionaire Hunt Avery has imprisoned her clan, but she learns something new: Avery really wants Juneau. Plum keeps tension high as she follows Juneau across the country, mixing in enough romantic spice to satisfy genre fans. Juneau’s old mentor, Whit, offers scientific explanations for the clan’s superpowers, but Juneau, secure in her mystical spirit connections, holds to her beliefs. After flirting with Whit’s explanations, Plum comes firmly down on Juneau’s side. Of note is Juneau’s relationship with the clan’s special raven messenger, named Poe, adding some intertextual fun. Although she concludes the series plot, the author leaves some latitude for future adventures.

Different enough from all the rest to keep genre fans reading. (Paranormal suspense. 12-18)”

From Booklist, May 1, 2015
Teenage pharmaceutical heir Miles lies at death’s door as his story takes up where After the End (2014) left off. To save him, Juneau, who grew up in an isolated community in Alaska, has administered her clan’s mystical chemical elixir, a substance that suspends aging and enhances health. Powerful corporations, including one owned by Miles’ father, will stop at nothing to obtain this elixir, including kidnapping Juneau’s clan. The perspective alternates between the teens, who are both out of their element, falling in love, and learning to adapt. Something of a slow burn, but a satisfying conclusion to the companion stories.