Monthly Archives: April 2013

IF I SHOULD DIE blog tour

I can’t believe my FINAL blog tour for the DIE FOR ME series is starting! And Katie at Mundie Moms (one of my favorite bloggers) is organizing it.

What that means is that you can go to Mundie Moms’ website and see the list of sites who are hosting each day of the tour so that you can follow along. And on that page (link above) you can sign up to win THE GRAND PRIZE:

All three books of the series along with the limited edition* bookmarks!

The tour starts over at Fangirlish, with a guest post written by Jules about his favorite spot in Paris.

Day 2 is at The Story Siren, with an exclusive excerpt from IF I SHOULD DIE (where Mamie is talking to JB!)

And all of this book-touring is to celebrate the release of IF I SHOULD DIE (May 2 in UK, May 7 in US)!

If you have not ordered the book yet, you can now. Here it is on Indiebound, Barnes & Noble, Amazon, hardback on Book Depository (worldwide), paperback on Book Depository (worldwide), Amazon UK, and Indigo (Canada). I know I’m leaving places out, but my fingers are going to sleep.

And if it’s nice out where you live, walk to your nearest indie bookstore and buy a copy. That way you get exercise PLUS romance, action, thrills, death (okay, only 1 person you know ends up permanently dead)!!! (There was a spoiler here. It’s gone now. :) )

I hope you love the book. I hope you love the tour. I hope you still love me when it’s all over and I’ve dealt out all of the HEAs I’m going to deal. (No, not everyone gets a happily-ever-after. This is not Hollywood.)

Thanks for following my blog tour. Enjoy!

*limited edition in this case just means I’m running out. :)

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

IF I SHOULD DIE street teams

Now that the end of the DIE FOR ME series is in sight (2 weeks away: May 2 in UK, May 7 in USA), I want to ask for your help in spreading the word about IF I SHOULD DIE.

If you live in one of the countries where IF I SHOULD DIE will be sold in English and you are either a:

  • librarian
  • bookstore employee
  • member of a reading group
  • someone who is willing to go to your local bookstore or school library and request that they carry IF I SHOULD DIE…

…I would like to send you some IF I SHOULD DIE bookmarks to hand out / display / wear as a bracelet / whatever will allow people to see them. If you are none of those things and just want a bookmark, don’t worry – I will be giving them away once the book is out.

Just write me an email (my address is on my Contact page, 3rd paragraph) and let me know your situation and how many you think you could use, and be sure to include your mailing address, and I will do my best to get them to you pre-release!

And I just want to thank you all for being so supportive and enthusiastic about DIE FOR ME’s world and characters. I never imagined that one of my favorite parts of being a writer would be communicating with my readers. And here you all are – so lovely and wonderful and totally picking me up and encouraging me when I hit a hard patch. (It’s true. When I feel like I’m writing complete crap, I just pull out some of your fan letters and they give me instant courage.) Thank you for sharing my love for Kate, Vincent, Jules, Ambrose, Georgia, Charlotte, Arthur, Genevieve, Papy & Mamie, Gaspard and even stick-up-his-butt Jean-Baptiste. (I can’t believe there’s a Team JB out there!)

I would hug you all if I could,

Amy

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

CONTEST MONDAY features Sonia Gensler

After skipping Contest Monday last week, I’M BACK with some loot for you from Sonia Gensler.

Sonia was one of the 21 authors at last month’s Texas writers retreat. I had never met her before, but our friend-in-common Tara Hudson had been planning to set us up, knowing that we’d get along. And, since Tara’s psychic (okay just really smart) we did!

These were the girls I shared a house with at the retreat. Sonia’s telling a story way far on the right, and her enraptured audience is (from left) Tara Hudson, Natalie C. Parker, Myra McEntire, and the back of Anna Carey’s and Tessa Gratton’s heads. (And yes, we’re eating red velvet cupcakes made by Gretchen Mc Neil. I can’t even tell you how amazing the frosting was.)

I had actually heard of Sonia a while ago because her first book was called THE REVENANT, and I was like, “I hope they don’t repeatedly die saving humans from preternatural death!” Luckily, it wasn’t anything about undead superheroes in France. :)

Here’s the cover of her (award winning!) book, which is a Victorian ghost story set in a Cherokee girl’s school in the old west. It was praised as “a compelling ghost and love story” by Booklist, “eerie and suspenseful” by Publishers Weekly, and “stunningly taut and entirely compelling” by The Bulletin.

It sounded so good that I’ve actually ordered a copy (just waiting on Amazon France to deliver). (You can too…right here.)

But the above-mentioned loot is in celebration of her upcoming book,

THE DARK BETWEEN, which is a YA Gothic mystery and hits shelves in just four months: August 2013. Just read the description:

At the turn of the twentieth century, Spiritualism and séances are all the rage—even in the scholarly town of Cambridge, England. While mediums dupe the grief-stricken, a group of local fringe scientists seeks to bridge the gap to the spirit world by investigating the dark corners of the human mind.

Each running from a shadowed past, Kate, Asher, and Elsie take refuge within the walls of Summerfield College. But their peace is soon shattered by the discovery of a dead body nearby. Is this the work of a flesh-and-blood villain, or is something otherworldly at play? This unlikely trio must illuminate what the scientists have not, and open a window to secrets taken to the grave—or risk joining the spirit world themselves.

The Dark Between, a supernatural romance about the powers that lie in the shadows of the mind, is perfect for fans of Sarah Rees Brennan, Alyxandra Harvey, and Libba Bray.

It’s available for pre-order here. (I can’t wait to read it!)

So today I have 4 signed DARK BETWEEN bookmarks for you. All you have to do to qualify is discover more about Sonia on your own.

Follow her on Twitter.

Follow her on FB.

Become a fan on Goodreads.

And then tell me below which you did. Each earns you 1 name put into the hat, and I will draw 4 winners in 24 hours. (International).

I think Sonia’s the best, so I bet you’ll enjoy getting to know her and her fascinating books!!

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

DIE FOR HER success!

Dear DIE FOR ME readers…thank you from the bottom of my heart for buying SO MANY copies of DIE FOR HER!!!

My editor gave me the 1st week sales number yesterday, and it made me so happy! And I’ve been getting so many notes from you about how you love Jules’s story.

Writing the novella was optional—it was an “only if you want to” situation. Now I’m very glad I decided to do it. MERCI to all of you for your dedication to the DIE FOR ME series. I’m truly touched. *hugs everyone reading this*

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

UNTIL I DIE is out in paperback: with Extras!

I am so pleased to tell you that as of today, UNTIL I DIE is out in paperback!


And the Exclusive Extras that we chose to include are:

Songs to Die For: The Official Until I Die Playlist
Kate’s Favorite Things (books and movies)
Who’s Your Bardia Boyfriend? Quiz
Immortal Inquiries: An Until I Die discussion guide
“When I Died”: Relive the final moments of Until I Die from Vincent’s point of view
Sneak Peek: An excerpt from If I Should Die

You can order your own copy here! The whole thing was fun to do, but writing what happened just after the end of Book 2…(as in, when ________ _________ his body) from Vincent’s point of view, was AWESOME!!! I hope you enjoy it!!

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------